BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate



Level 3

Career Sector

Creative Industries

Available At

Seevic Palmer's

Start Date


Course overview

Computing will see you study the technical aspects of hardware and networking, alongside concepts of programming.

The purpose of the BTEC National Certificate in Computing is to equip students with the necessary skills to find employment as computer practitioners. It is appropriate to the work of staff in the fields of programming, computer systems maintenance, systems analysis and design, and operations. It is a valued alternative entry qualification to a wide range of advanced professional and higher education courses.

This course is a Level 3 National Extended Certificate equivalent to one A-Level and can be studied as part of an A-Level programme.

What will I study?


You will study two units in the first year and a further two in the second year:

Year 1 units

Unit 1: Principles of Computer Science

Unit 2: IT Systems Security and Encryption

Year 2 units

Unit 3:    Fundamentals of Computer Systems 

Unit 4:    Systems Analysis and Design

Unit 15:  Website Development

How will I be taught and assessed?

The course is assessed continuously. Units 1 and 3 are externally assessed. Students will sit one exam at the end of year 1  and one in January of year 2. Students will also submit three pieces of coursework during each year. Units 2 and 15 are internally assessed with students working to use web scripting skills to solve problems for local firms.

Entry requirements

  • Four GCSEs at Grade 4 or above.
  • Grade 5 or above in GCSE English Language.
  • Grade 6 or above in GCSE Maths.

What could I do next?

Computer Science leads on to degree courses including Computer Science, Software Engineering, Games Programming, Web Development and Artificial Intelligence plus many more. You can also move into the workplace in areas such as technician, programming, systems design and development.

Contact Us